If you have driven on any highway in Maryland, you have likely seen someone driving recklessly or aggressively. Aggressive driving causes more than 50% of car accidents around the country. When drivers allow their frustrations to lead to road rage and aggressive driving, they risk their safety and the safety of everyone around them. You may be entitled to representation and compensation if you have been injured in a car accident caused by an aggressive driver. Let’s go over the dangers of aggressive driving.
How to Spot an Aggressive Driver
Road rage can manifest in many ways. Some studies have found that around 80% of drivers expressed significant aggression, anger, or road rage while driving at least once in the past year.
Some of the most common examples of aggressive driving and road rage include:
- Failing to yield
- Passing illegally
- Not following the rules of the road
If you notice that a driver is purposely provoking you or endangering you, your safest option is to remove yourself from the situation as quickly and safely as you can. If you believe it’s necessary, exit the roadway safely and call the police.
Causes of Aggressive Driving
Drivers experience road rage for several reasons. Some of the most common factors that lead to aggressive driving and road rage include:
Traffic: Heavy traffic, waiting at stoplights or pedestrians, and even looking for a parking space can increase a driver’s anger
Anonymity: When drivers think they will never see the other driver again, they are more likely to engage in rude gestures, excessive honking, cutting people off, or tailgating.
Disregard for the law and safety: When angry, some drivers focus only on what caused their rage and disregard all consequences.
Aggressive Driving Laws in Maryland
Maryland law states that a person is guilty of reckless driving if they drive a car without regard for the safety of others. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor and can result in a $510 fine. Maryland residents can also be charged for negligent driving, which is a less severe charge but should still be taken seriously. A person can be charged with negligent driving if they drive a vehicle in a careless manner that risks the life or safety of any individual. The penalty for this charge is $140 and 1 point on the driver’s license.
If you have been in a car accident with a reckless or aggressive driver, consider hiring a personal injury lawyer to manage your case. Snyder Law Group has decades of experience in handling car accident cases. Reach out today to learn more.
Contact The Snyder Law Group Today
The Snyder Law Group, LLC, proudly represents clients throughout Maryland and Washington, D.C. Our experienced Baltimore attorneys understand the frustration that comes with an insurance company, medical professional, or other party that refuses to accept liability for negligent or reckless behavior. You can take heart in knowing there are talented and experienced lawyers ready to work for you. We are experienced in handling personal injury claims of medical malpractice or injury resulting from serious car and truck accidents, and have secured hundreds of millions in verdicts and settlements. Please visit our website, www.410thefirm.com, or call us at 410-843-3476, for more information. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.